Third Party Inspectors
Third Party Inspectors, contracted by a School Board, shall conduct the required inspections, (except final inspections) and require corrections or modifications as necessary to ensure that a building or structure is constructed in conformity with the building code adopted by DFPC. Third Party Inspectors shall enforce only the codes adopted by DFPC. Third Party Inspectors shall be certified by DFPC to work on Public School Construction projects and shall cause copies of their inspection reports to be sent to DFPC.
Third Party Inspector Certification is valid for three(3) years from the date of issue, unless certification is issued based on education and experience, then it will be issued for one(1) year.
The fee to become certified as a Third Party Inspector is $40.00
Please complete, sign and date the Third Party Inspector Application
Include any supporting documentation such as Certificates, CEUs or Degrees
Consider attaching a resume if new applicant and applying for Certification based on work experience and education.
You may scan and email your application to CDPS_DFPC_Construction@state.co.us or fax to 303.239.4131(not toll free).
You may also mail your application and supporting documents to:
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
Fire and Life Safety Section
700 Kipling Street, Suite 4100
Lakewood, CO 80215
PLEASE NOTE: The price to make a Credit Card payment to DFPC will be $0.75 plus 2.25% of the transaction amount. The flat fee for an ACH or electronic check payment is $1.00.
Since the transaction must be processed through the state’s official web portal, Colorado.gov, the payment is subject to portal pricing and under a contract administered under the authority of Colorado’s Statewide Internet Portal Authority as designated in statute CRS 24.37.7-101.
To pay now, using a Credit Card or Check, please go to Payment Portal and select Third Party Inspector and the service type.