Jump to navigation
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) in Colorado: State & National Resources
Skip to main content
New to Colorado
Foster Children Driver Licenses
The Foster Children Driver License Act (
), effective August 2, 2019, streamlines the process for foster children to obtain a driver license. Although the licensing process has been streamlined, foster children must still meet the same proficiency standards other Colorado drivers meet. By streamlining the licensing process for foster children, we are ensuring more proficiently trained Coloradans are on state highways and byways.
Prior to the Foster Children Driver License Act, the licensing process was set up for young adults with a more traditional family support system. These changes allow foster children to reach an important milestone despite often not having a traditional support network and faced difficulties meeting Colorado’s
Graduated Driver Laws requirements
Instead of requiring a foster parent or other legal guardian to sign an
affidavit of liability (DR 2460)
, foster children are now exempt if they have evidence of financial responsibility (insurance, SR-22) in their name.
drive time logs (DR 2324)
may now be signed by anyone who is older than 21 and has a valid driver license, if that person provided the instruction. The change gives foster children more flexibility in getting their drive time logs signed. Now aunts, uncles, grandparents, mentors, faith leaders, and more can sign if they meet the criteria above.
As of August 2, 2019, anyone who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver license may instruct a foster child with a driving permit. Previously, foster children who had an instruction permit and were younger than 16 had to be instructed in driving by the person who signed the Affidavit of Liability.
More useful information for foster children and their legal guardians
For more on
What do I need to do before I go to the driver license office?
before taking written test. You will be required to successfully pass the written test before a permit can be issued.
You may be able to
schedule an appointment
change depending upon the age of the minor who is seeking the instruction permit
What do I need to bring to the driver license office?
Social Security Card or
acceptable proof of your Social Security number
Parent or legal guardian who can sign Affidavit of Identity, if needed.
Proof of current physical Colorado address documents
Minor instruction permits are valid for 3 years
Behind the wheel training
Per State Statute, 42-2-104, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training is mandatory if you are under age 16 and 6 months at the time of applying for your driver license. If you live more than 30 miles from a full-time certified driving school, an additional 12 hours of drive time may be substituted for the behind-the-wheel training (Bring a map quest printout to the driver license office showing how far you live from the nearest school within your zip code). The 12 additional hours must be submitted on the drive time log that is signed by your parent, guardian, or other responsible adult who signed the Affidavit of Liability. You should look for your zip code on the
Behind The Wheel Zip Code Chart
one month prior to applying for your driver license.
, if a driving school opens (any time) within 30 miles of your residential address before applying for your driver license, you will be required to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
Parent's Supervised Driving Program
download the app
New to Colorado from another country?
For more information, call 303-205-5600