Department of Motor Vehicles
Pamela M. Bacon, Logan County Clerk
Logan County Courthouse
315 Main Street, Suite 3
Sterling, CO 80751
970-526-5384 (Motor Vehicle Fax)
Hours 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F Closed all legal holidays.
(Service fee of 2.25% applies plus $.75 per transaction for credit card and $1.00 per transaction for electronic check.)
- Renew A Vehicle Registration
- Submit a first-time Vehicle Registration
- Request a Duplicate Title
- Estimate Registration Fees
- Add/Change a Vehicle Address
- Request a Personalized Plate
- Replace Tabs
- Apply for a First-Time Placard
- Manage My Placard
If you are looking for: Title Info, Registration Info, License Plates Info including Regular License Plates, Group License Plates, Military License Plates, Alumni License plates or other License Plates, Person With Disabilities Info, Other Information see link below:
In Colorado, a one month grace period is given for all renewals. (Example: If your plates expire in February, you have until the last working day in March to renew your plates.) Mandatory late fees are collected after the one month grace period for every month past the grace period on your vehicle up to a maximum of $100.00. This fee is in addition to standard renewal fees.
If transferring a Colorado title to your name without a lien, a new title may be printed. The person whose name is on the title that is being transferred to must be present with a photo ID. Note: Secure and verifiable identification will be required.
Our office will be happy to give an estimate on your plate cost. Required information will be the Vehicle Type (motorcycle, truck, passenger), Vehicle Class, Vehicle Year, Fuel Type, Vehicle Weight, MSRP (Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price), Date of Vehicle Purchase, Registration Date. However, this is ONLY an estimate. Without the actual title work, we are unable to give the exact amount. Any estimate given (exact or not) will change if we go into a new month, because the ownership tax is charged from the date of purchase until you plate the vehicle, based on the value and year of the vehicle.
Proof of insurance is required for every transaction, whether for permit or registration. Colorado requires that all registered vehicles operating on Colorado roads be properly insured. Effective July 1, 1999, all owners of Tax Class C (passenger, motorhome, and motorcycle) will be required to provide proof of insurance for the vehicle prior to vehicle registrations/renewal. Effective May 12, 2000, owners of Tax Class B vehicles (including light trucks and SUV's) must show proof of insurance before registering vehicles. This does not change the fact that all motor vehicle types must have insurance coverage.
County Drop Box
The drive up drop box is located in the parking lot entrance to the Courthouse off of Ash Street on the east end of the parking lot.
The drop box can be used for voted ballots, motor vehicle renewals, tax payments and any other county business after hours or during business hours for convenience.
The box will be open 24 hours unless there is a deadline for taxes or after 7 p.m. on election night. The box will be checked once a day at times other than election time when ballots are mailed out. During elections it will be checked multiple times a day. The box should hold between 750 to 1000 ballots. The box is under 24 hour surveillance. It is a felony to break open or tamper with the box. It is illegal to drop off more than ten ballots in the box for any election.
If there is a problem with the drop box, contact information is on the side of the box.