
Director’s Interpretations of Issues Impacting the Colorado Workers’ 
Compensation System  

In an effort to provide guidance on the practical applications of the Colorado Workers’ 
Compensation Act, we are publishing Director’s interpretations of statutes and other factors 
affecting the system, in the form of Interpretive Bulletins. The purpose is to provide greater levels 
of consistency and predictability as to how the Colorado system is intended to operate. While the 
opinions do not have the force and effect of rule, they are offered as navigational tools to clarify 
and simplify processes, create efficiencies, and to reduce litigation.  

If you have questions regarding this temporary Interpretive Bulletin, please direct your inquiries 
to Paul Tauriello, Director of the Division of Workers’ Compensation, at 633 17th St., Suite 400, 
Denver, CO 80202-3660, fax (303) 318-8049, or email Christy Culkin, Medical Services 
Manager, at christy.culkin@state.co.us.  

COVID-19 Updates 

Release date: March 17, 
2020  

Updated: June 5, 2020 

The following HCPCS codes and values have been assigned for SARS-CoV-2 testing:  

CDC Labs U0001 .997 RVU CO Medical Fee Schedule $69.79  
Non-CDC Labs U0002 1.41 RVU CO Medical Fee Schedule $98.70  

The following additional CPT® and HCPCS codes and values have been assigned for dates of 
service on or after June 5, 2020: 

86328 1.25 RVUs CO Medical Fee Schedule $87.72  
86769 1.16 RVUs CO Medical Fee Schedule $81.71  
87635 1.41 RVUs CO Medical Fee Schedule $98.70  
U0003 2.77 RVUs CO Medical Fee Schedule $193.96 (Infectious agent detection by nucleic 

acid; amplified probe technique, making use of high throughput technologies)  
U0004 2.77 RVUs CO Medical Fee Schedule $193.96 (Any technique, non-CDC, making use 

of high throughput technologies)  
  

Options for social distancing in health care to minimize the spread of COVID-19:  
 
Telephone - non-face to face services provided to a patient using the telephone.  
Physicians would utilize the appropriate code found in the E&M section of CPT®.  
Non-physicians would utilize the appropriate code found in the Medicine section of CPT®.  



Telemedicine - Rule 16-2(W) defines telemedicine as a two-way, real time interactive communication 
between the injured worker and the provider at a distant site. At a minimum, telemedicine includes 
audio and video telecommunications equipment. The provider is responsible for HIPAA compliance. 
Telemedicine is available statewide.  

To comply with Rule 18-4(I), providers must append modifier 95 to the appropriate CPT® code and 
bill location service code 02. If services are billed correctly with supporting documentation, providers 
will be reimbursed additional $5 per date of service.  

The medical records must include locations of the provider and the patient, the time of each service, 
and detail how the services were rendered (such as secured video).  

Rule 18-4(I) states that healthcare services listed in Appendix P of CPT®, Division Z-codes (when 
appropriate), G0459, G0508, and G0509 may be provided via telemedicine. The rule allows the 
provision of additional services with prior authorization. To assure quick and efficient delivery of 
medical benefits to Colorado injured workers while encouraging appropriate social distancing, the 
Division temporarily waives the prior authorization requirement for initial and subsequent 
telehealth visits for physical and occupational therapy.  

Providers shall continue to comply with all other applicable Division Rules when providing services 
under this temporary bulletin. For example, providers shall document functional gains pursuant to 
applicable Medical Treatment Guidelines (MTGs) and Rule 18-5(H)(1). In addition, initial treatment 
recommendations should not exceed the time to produce functional effect parameters in the applicable 
MTGs. Finally, providers shall request prior authorization when the treatment exceeds or is outside of 
the MTGs, or when providing more than one hour of procedures per day per discipline. See Rules 16-
4 and 18-4(H)(4).  

Physical therapy supplies should be provided by the therapy office or a contracted durable medical 
equipment vendor.  
 


